Larghetto (for solo violin and strings)

Full Score – School Arrangement 1
Set Of Parts – School Arrangement 1
Full Score – Standard Arrangement 2
Set Of Parts – Standard Arrangement 2
Piano Score – Piano and Violin Arrangement 3
Solo Violin Part – Piano and Violin Arrangement 3

February 2012 – Duration Approx. 8 minutes

The Larghetto was specially written for violinist Julia Kiefner and the Banda Di Musica. It was adapted from the middle section of the second movement of an earlier work, The Thresher, Sonata For Strings, which has never yet been played. I had always felt that this Larghetto section of music was extra special somehow, needing to escape as a little piece in its own right. Writing it for Julia Kiefner gave me the special opportunity to achieve this. It is slow, beautiful and deeply passionate.

There are three arrangements available;

No.1 – School – for Solo Violin, Violins 1, 2 and 3, Cellos 1 and 2.  Buy from SHEETMUSICDIRECT


No.2 – Standard – for Solo Violin, Violins 1 and 2, Viola, Cello and Double Bass.  Buy from Sheetmusicdirect

Or sheetmusicplus

No.3 – For violin and piano.  Buy here from SHEETMUSICDIRECT 



Solo Violin – Julia Kiefner. Banda Di Musica conducted by Gary Woolf

Violin – Darius Schmelzer Piano – Chizuru Amakawa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.