Septet (string quintet flute and harpsichord)

Full Score
Full score and set of parts – buy here at SHEETMUSICDIRECT


1992 – Septet for flute, harpsichord, 2 violins, viola, cello and double bass, in five movements.

Commissioned by violinist Carl Beddow.

Total duration: 35 minutes.
This piece encompasses many emotions. It is highly rhythmic, melodic and also has a generous helping of punchy aggression and dissonance.

It was given it’s world premiere, and so far its only performance to date, back in June 1992. The performers were:

Violin 1 – Carl Beddow, Violin 2 – David Parry, Viola – Edmund Barrett, Cello – Laura Fairhurst, Double Bass – Wendy Milanowsky (now Lambros), Flute – Christina Bailey and Harpsichord – Anthony Davie.

Septet – 1st Movement – Allegro Vivace Ma Non Troppo
2nd Movement – Intermezzo
3rd Movement – Waltz Macabre
4th Movement – Adagio
5th Movement – Allegro Furioso

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.